top of page

Amtmann, Fogd, Sorenskriver og Lensmann

Throughout most of the 17th century, Eiker was his own county, but his own sheriff and bailiff. From 1679, however, it was part of the newly established Buskerud county, and in 1708 Sigdal, Modum, Eiker, Lier, Røyken and Hurum were merged into one bailiff's office. Both the county governor and the bailiff resided in or near Drammen, and to the local court meetings they often sent deputies. They were high-ranking officials, with whom the common people of Eiker seldom came into contact.


bottom of page